Michigan House Republicans
Michigan House Freedom Caucus condemns National Popular Vote; radical attack on electoral college
RELEASE|June 6, 2023
Contact: Steve Carra
“National Popular Vote is mob rule, plain and simple. We can’t afford to let this happen. The results would be disastrous” – Rep. Andrew Beeler (R-Port Huron)

The House Freedom Caucus announced its opposition to House Bill 4156, which would bind Michigan to the National Popular Vote (NPV) compact. The NPV compact would commit Michigan’s 15 electors to vote for whoever wins the national popular vote should additional states sign onto the agreement and surpass the 270 electoral vote threshold.

“HB 4156 is irresponsible legislation,” said Rep. Rachelle Smit, of Martin. “Public trust in our elections is at an all-time low, and House Democrats are keen to remove the oversight Michigan voters have in deciding which candidate receives our 15 electoral votes. We could see a situation where the state electors cast their ballots for someone who lost our state by hundreds of thousands of votes.”

The NPV compact is currently adopted in 15 Democrat states and Washington D.C., representing 195 votes in the electoral college. Michigan adding 15 votes would leave the electoral college 60 electoral votes from destruction.

“The issues that are most important to us here in Michigan are wildly different from those in Los Angeles County,” said Rep. Joseph Fox, of Fremont. “NPV would give us, as a state, the same voice as one county in California. We will see a dramatic decrease in our relevance in national policymaking should this pass.”

“It’s astonishing to hear NPV advocates claim that their method of awarding votes is more in line with the founders’ intentions,” said Rep. Jim DeSana, of Carleton. “A quick read of the Federalist Papers will dispel the idea that the National Popular Vote had any bearing on who the founders thought should lead the country.”

HB 4156 passed out of the House Elections Committee today, and is now up for a full House vote, which could take place as early as this week.

Chair Rep. Steve CarraVice Chair Rep. Matt Maddock
Rep. Andrew BeelerRep. James DeSana
Rep. Joseph FoxRep. Neil Friske
Rep. Angela RigasRep. Rachelle Smit
House Freedom Caucus

Michigan House Republicans

© 2009 - 2024 Michigan House Republicans. All Rights Reserved.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.