Speaker Cotter announces new committee to address roads issue

Categories: News

Speaker of the House Kevin Cotter, R-Mt. Pleasant, today announced the creation of a new committee to address Michigan’s infrastructure funding future.  The new committee will be called the Committee on Roads and Economic Development.

“Finding a long-term plan for Michigan’s crumbling roads is one of our top priorities, and it is time the committee makeup of the Legislature reflected that,” said Speaker Cotter, R-Mt. Pleasant.  “Creating this committee allows us to come together and work quickly on a solution that fixes our roads, sets the stage for continued economic growth and gets Michigan moving again.”
The committee will have seven members, including:

  • State Rep. Jeff Farrington, R-Utica, Chair
  • State Rep. Peter Pettalia, R-Presque Isle, Vice Chair
  • State Rep. Al Pscholka, R-Stevensville
  • State Rep. Andrea Lafontaine, R-Columbus Township
  • State Rep. Chris Afendoulis, R-Grand Rapids Township
  • State Rep. Marilyn Lane, D-Fraser, Minority Vice Chair
  • State Rep. Scott Dianda, D-Calumet

“These members have all shown a great interest and level of expertise in this important topic,” said Speaker Cotter.  “I look forward to working with them to focus our efforts and improve Michigan’s transportation infrastructure for decades to come.”