Rep. Kahle town hall draws over 30 residents

On Tuesday evening, State Rep. Bronna Kahle hosted over 30 community members for an educational panel discussion on vaping and our youth. Joining her were special guests Sydney Papenhagen, Miss River Raisin Festival 2019; Superintendent Mark Haag, Lenawee ISD; Sherriff Troy Bevier, Lenawee County Sheriff’s Office; Martha Hall, Lenawee County Health Department; and Jackie Bradley,…

Rep. Schroeder welcomes local pastor to lead House invocation

State Rep. Andrea Schroeder of Independence Township welcomed Rev. Dr. Jack Mannschreck (center) to the state Capitol to lead Thursday’s invocation for the Michigan House of Representatives. Mannschreck serves as Lead Pastor of Waterford Central United Methodist Church in Waterford. Joining them at the rostrum is Speaker of the House Lee Chatfield.

Rep. Sheppard continues to fight opioid epidemic with new law

State Rep. Jason Sheppard of Temperance holds an enrolled copy of House Bill 4367 with Gov. Gretchen Whitmer on Wednesday. HB 4367, which became Public Act 39 of 2019 in June, would allow certain government agencies and organizations, including public libraries and their employees to keep and administer life-saving opioid antagonists in good faith without…

Rep. Filler joins governor for ceremonial signing of e-filing bill

State Rep. Graham Filler today participated in a ceremonial signing of the law he sponsored to preserve Michigan’s electronic court document filing system. The MiFile system allows documents to be filed electronically with courts across the state through one central portal. Since its implementation in 2016, the system has improved service to the public, increased…

Speaker Chatfield welcomes Boy Scout Troop 122 of Rudyard to Capitol

Speaker of the House Lee Chatfield, of Levering, recently welcomed Boy Scout Troop 122 of Rudyard to Lansing. From left to right: Damon Lieurance, Brody Hunt, Wyatt Hunt, Caleb Lieurance, Kendrick Brace, and Ben Hunt. Troop 122 of Rudyard was recognized in both the House and Senate Chambers.